You Go To Bed Right Now! And You Have Good Dreams!

Standard

Doodle has been stuffy, coughing, had a fever for a few days. He apparently didn’t get the memo that Mommy’s doing all of this by herself right now, else he would’ve chosen before Jake’s school started for his cold, right? No matter, all we’re dealing with now is leftover stuffiness, and that’s totally tolerable, but he also seems to be trying to make up for having been miserable for those 2 or 3 days. He’s been an absolute punk lately. And after those first two nights of just Vicks, ibuprofin, saline drops and almost no sleep (for me, of course – Jake was sleeping soundly the whole time!), I threw in the towel and gave him some Zarbees.

Seriously amazing stuff! He slept! And if I layed him down anywhere around like 10 minutes after I gave it to him, I couldn’t even finish singing him our song before he crashed. And he stayed asleep, too. That’s heaven right there. I know we’ve been ultimately lucky in the sleep department for so much of his little life, but when you grow accustomed to a certain way, taking anything away from that is torture!

And it’s all natural with like honey and elderberries and crap, so it’s a lot easier to feel good about forcing him to sleep. But honestly, he needed sleep just as bad as I needed it, and just like magic he started feeling so much better the very next day!

But, the last 3 days (going on 4 now, he’s still effing crazy!) he’s just been a crazy wild little punk. I can’t get him to sit still! And he won’t nap, and he won’t go to bed, and he wakes up hours before he used to, and I don’t know what to do, and I’m ’bout ready to start pulling my hair out!

Seriously, from 8 until almost 10 last night, I’d stomp upstairs, lay down my best stern-mommy-voice, and put him back in bed. Not 10 minutes later I’d hear his little footsteps scurrying around up there, or I’d hear him knocking incessantly on the door, or I’d hear him talking to Slyfox about needing medicine on his chest, or I’d hear him spinning the wheels on his racecar bed… so I’d do it again. I’d plop his little body back in bed, put his buddies back in their proper night-night place, get his blanket back on him ever so perfectly, and I’d day sweet things in my mean voice.

Things like, “You get in bed and close your eyes so you can get some good rest!” or, “You better go to sleep so we can play tomorrow!” or, “Go to bed right now and have good dreams! I love you!”

So, I don’t hear him after the nearly-10-o’clock-night-night-reprimand, and I figure all is well. Jake comes home and we chat about our day, he eats some meatloaf muffins, and we head up to bed. I slowly open the door to check on Doodle, as I do, and there’s something blocking the door. With it cracked ever so slightly, I can barely see that his bed is empty, so I look down to see the obstacle in the way of the door. There’s Doodle cuddled up ever so sweetly right in front of the door. Seriously, I never heard him get back up – no idea how long my little guy was sleeping on the floor. Luckily I’m skinny, otherwise I’m not really sure how we would have managed getting in there, fixing his little predicament, and getting him tucked back into bed.

**Sigh** πŸ™‚

So in an attempt to remember all of the wonderful reasons I chose this job, I’ll just share a few pictures from our last few days. I even had to get tricky with my camera to try taking *decent* pictures of the two of us playing as Jake is gone so much and thus unable to take cute pictures at my whim. πŸ™‚

image

Mmm, cereal! Don't you just *love* his crazy-boy eating face?

image

Super fun tickles. πŸ™‚ I'll have to see if I can get some video of his darling laugh.

image

Sick boy, all sortsa relaxed, watching practically non-stop cartoons.

image

Dinner with Mama. πŸ™‚

image

Throwing my Doodle around. He's had *so* much energy since he's been feeling better.

Ok, yeah, I do love my job. Sleep, though, that’s important stuff too!

6 responses »

    • πŸ™‚ I’m sure that has a lot to do with it. I play with him and throw him around and stuff, but I’m no substitute for dad. Luckily, Jake would rather spend any down time he runs into with me and Doodle versus taking a break from everything, so he still gets some daddy play, but not nearly as much as he’s used to.

  1. Glad y’all are on the mend. I gotta try that Zarbees stuff next time we have an outbreak!! Or maybe just tonight/tomorrow night if Stella won’t sleep. Sounds like magic!

    • It is, but I’ve heard of some kids who won’t take it. Apparently it’s disgusting, but if you call anything medicine, *anything*, Doodle is all for it. Rocks at times, terrifying at others. I won’t lie, I’m a little scared of him growing up to be a pill junkie when he grows up. :/

      I got it at Walgreens. I had never heard of it before, but I went through a crazy coupon phase and I actually made money off buying it after coupons and a register reward, so I figured I’d grab a few boxes. And oh boy, has it come in handy! πŸ™‚

  2. Dontcha just love when they fall asleep in those bizarre positions? C is a lot less mobile than Doddle, but she often falls asleep in the corner of her crib with her little booty in the air. I have to wonder how she could possibly be comfortable! But she apparently is, so I don’t question it.

    • I do love the fun postions. πŸ™‚ I had one picture on an old cell phone that was my absolute favorite random sleeping position picture of him, but that was accidentally reformatted, :/ and I’m still recovering… But I do have tons more pictures of various ways he’s passed out. Ill have to do a fun post of it one day. πŸ™‚

What do you think?

