Bachelor’s Degree in Sociology with an Emphasis in Criminology and a Double Minor in Philosophy and Psychology

Standard

If you had told me – say, 6 years ago – that the young man I was dating would enroll in college after we got married and made a baby, I would’ve laughed in your face.  Had you continued on to say that he would go for a bachelor’s degree in sociology with an emphasis in criminology and a double minor in philosophy and psychology, I would’ve had you institutionalized.

But that’s exactly what he had me looking up for him today while he was at work.  That’s what I figured for him all day while Doodle watched and rewatched Henry Hugglemonster.  Apparently my husband, who has always detested everything that even sounded like school, loves learning.  I mean, I know he loves learning.  I’ve always known that he loves learning.  But not like this.  Not at all like this.  He literally wants to fill every available elective credit spot (and trust me, there’s a ton of elective space available – it’s a degree in sociology!) with enough philosophy and psychology to add more words to his degree.

How amazing that my wonderful husband works full time to keep a roof over our head and food in our bellies and then wants to completely fill any amount of free time with a degree this extensive just so he can move up in his chosen field and work even harder.  All while I play all day with an incredibly well-behaved toddler (is he almost too big for me to call him that?) and occasionally do some laundry and dishes.  I’m amazed, literally.  And he’s happy.  Happy to come home, happy to go to school, happy to go to work, happy to have time with our family, happy to relax in the back yard with friends, happy to play video games, and happy to turn off his games to do homework.  Just plain happy.  And it makes me happy.  And I do love being happy.  🙂

In other news, Doodle has now gone a full week of dry underoo-clad naps!  🙂  And he’s gotten a ton of peppermints all week because of it.  You know those soft peppermints you get at Christmas time – yeah, this kid digs those things and if that keeps him from making me buy more diapers, I’m all for bribery!  And his language is getting incredible!  And he’s sounding out and spelling words like dog, cat, pig, and bed with his letter magnets on the fridge!  I mean, he watches Word World a lot, and there’s a dog, cat, and pig on the show, and I can think of at least three different episodes where they specifically spelled and created a bed, so I’m sure most of it is just repetition and memory, but still!  That’s repetition and memory of letters, letter sounds, and words!

But with my big boy growing and learning so much, we’ve come to a sad understanding – other than the fact that he no longer says hopadoctor instead of helicopter – Jake and I are officially dad and mom.  Take a moment and sigh with me.  We can’t even threaten him with tickles ’til he stops breathing to get him to call us mommy or daddy just one more time!  I’m sure it’s just a phase – I hope it’s just a phase.  At least let me be mama!  I can’t do this mom business.  Not yet!  That’s too close to, “Mom, can I borrow the car keys?”

I think we’ve settled on dragons for the birthday, which is good because I have my work cut out for me if I want to make myself even more frazzled than I did last year.  His birthday’s in a month and a half…  Gosh, how did he get to be almost 3 already?!  So now I’ve got to get the party stuff going, the invitations and all of the party favors and fun activities and such (not to mention the cake!), I still need to finish that uterus (I know!  I’m such a slacker) and get a few of those headbands done for my midwife friend, get a whole bunch of curtains sewn up for another wonderful friend of mine, and build a sandbox for Doodle’s birthday.  Hopefully all of these things can happen soon.  🙂  And I know I can’t ask Jake for much help.  But that’s ok – he works hard so I can do all of these wonderful things that make me happy.

So anyway, if I’m not around a lot, this is why.  I still love you all, and I will try my darndest to continue commenting on your blogs.  And if anything outlandish or amazing happens, I’ll make sure to tell you all.

One response »

  1. Ouch! I hadn’t even thought about not being “mommy and daddy” anymore. Maybe Stella will skip that… And I don’t know why, but for some reason I had it in my head that Stella was older than Doodle. Good deal! Now you can provide me with bday tutorials before I have to do that again!!

What do you think?

