So I Got a Little Overzealous… About Everything

Standard

I do this a lot, guys. It’s kind of my MO. I find something I like, I run in head first, and then I burn myself out and give up.

Ok, so I don’t always burn myself out and give up. Mainly if it’s for Doodle, I’ll just grind through the last mile or so of a project while every instinct I have is telling me to just stop. Otherwise, when it’s not directly for Doodle, I go too hard and too fast into something that I really love, and one day out of no where my motivation is completely gone. I set huge goals for myself, realizing that they’re entirely possible and that there’s no real legitimate reason I can’t check them off my list, but then I just can’t keep going. I don’t know though, it almost seems like the fact that they’re on my list, at one point or another it starts to make me not want to do them that much more. It’s almost like an oppositional defiance thing.

Take, for instance, I showed a great friend of mine who owns a coffee shop these completely adorable coffee cup sweaters that I made to see if he wanted to sell them for me at his shop:

Elephant, koala, and owl coffee sweaters with coffee bean buttons.  ^_^

Elephant, koala, and owl coffee sweaters with coffee bean buttons. ^_^

I had sent them to him with the idea of selling them with something kind of like a consignment deal – I make some and send them to him, and he sells them and gives me my cut. I send him more whenever I have more. Perfect, right? I can just make them at my leisure, and we both get a bit of a profit whenever anyone wants to buy a silly coffee cup novelty. Well, he saw them and loved them, and he offered me $200 for 20 of them.

$200! That’s flippin awesome! I mean, sure it takes me a while to make one, but I’m not doing anything else, right? Sure, I keep Doodle alive and make food and wash laundry and kick the dog when she snores and vacuum and keep track of all of Jake’s due dates for school assignments and tests. But I’m not doing anything else that brings home the bacon, and that’s pretty cool that I have the ability to make a few extra buckeroos, right? So I make a whole ton of those coffee bean buttons, get all of my yarns sorted and figured, make all of the main parts of the covers… and then I stop. Literally, all I’ve got left is about 10 faces to make and attach onto the sweaters. That’s it. I’ve been sitting here NOT making $200 for 3 months now.  And I don’t know why I can’t just pick them up and finish them.

If something’s not on my list, however, and I’m sitting there with no direct to-do, I’ll just whip out a pillow:

Doodle loves his owl pillow!

Doodle loves his owl pillow!

Again, we’re talking about doing something for Doodle, but it was a perfectly spontaneous project that I can only imagine still would have taken me weeks longer to complete had it been something I specifically wanted to make for him. Instead, I was just sitting there with some material I had come across while cleaning, and I thought to myself, “I should make a pillow for Doodle.” Then I promptly got up and grabbed my sewing machine, scissors, and stuffing and got to work. Not 15 minutes later, Doodle was ECSTATIC to take his new pillow to Grandma’s for a sleepover.

Why can’t everything be like that? Even if it is on a list, why can’t I just get a random motivation and actually finish things?

As far as completing things for Doodle, I’ll still stall to the last second most of the time. That birthday party back in June? I was still finishing party favors, snacks, and cake-decorating as guests were arriving. I had been “working” on it for months. Months.

That pillow though – I think (hope) that pillow changed something in me. That same day, after he went off to Grandma’s, Jake and I went out to get almost everything I needed for his Halloween costume. Three full weeks before Halloween! Granted, we needed to know what all we would be able to procure locally or craft out of basic supplies, that way we had enough time to wait for anything we needed to order online. But anyway, I got the supplies super early. You know what the old Kortney would have done? Put those bags in a closet and remembered them on October 29th!

This new and improved pillow-crafting Kortney, however, went out and enjoyed the rest of the evening with her husband celebrating 10 years together. But then the very next morning, this new pillow-crafting Kortney started cutting and sewing fabric, carving foam, and fabricating accessories. I was determined to not have this project on my list stress me out ’til the last minute. I went head first, but I couldn’t give up. It was for Doodle.

Little Link and Navi

Little Link and Navi

I carved and painted the deku shield, sewed and pieced together the kokiri sword scabbard, carved and put together the slingshot, and designed Navi, as well as designed boot covers and created the patterns for and sewed the tunic and hat.

I carved and painted the deku shield, sewed and pieced together the kokiri sword scabbard, carved and put together the slingshot, and designed Navi, as well as designed boot covers and created the patterns for and sewed the tunic and hat.

Anyway – where I was going with this (That’s right folks! – this post was NOT just a clever attempt at sharing my little guy’s AWESOME Halloween costume with you)…

I’ve been absent from here for a while. A long while. I think since Labor Day? Yep, balloons. That was my last post, on August 31. Along with me not being on here, I haven’t been to your pages either. I do follow a few of you on Facebook, and I love reading your blogs that I see, but I don’t get links to all of them, and I never come check on you wonderful friends who aren’t on Facebook (or at least who I haven’t found yet). And that makes me sad. Because I truly loved being in your lives, even just digitally. But I jumped in the deep end without grabbing floaties, guys, and I sank.

If I can randomly make a pillow in 15 minutes and get Doodle’s costume done *for the most part* 3 weeks before Halloween, I think I can get back on my horse around here. I want to make some goals. Put them on my have-to-do list. Something like, post on here weekly. Maybe even once or twice more in the month to just share a fun picture of Doodle or something we did together. One of these days I even want to try something like a daily picture for a month kind of post like I’ve seen around a bit. Something, anything, to get me in the habit of keeping a habit.

Also, and I’m a little early, but I think my blog’s birthday is coming up – November 20. It’s not really that big of a deal, and I think this is only like my 70th post, but it’s still a milestone for me. 🙂 I think, because I love you guys so much, that I want to do some kind of giveaway for that. Reverse birthday presents work, right? I’ll get back to you on details for that. And if you have any suggestions, let me know! 🙂 I can make cookies, and I’m pretty crafty – what do you guys want?

One other habit I want to keep is getting back in touch with all of you. I will be on here more often looking through all of your blogs, that’s a promise. What would really help me, though, is if you have a Facebook page for your blog, I’d love to know about it. I think I’ve only got like 3 or 4 of you on my wall. What’s super easy about that is I’m on Facebook often. I’m not very good at social things, so I don’t really hang out or talk to people in person often, so Facebook is super easy for me to keep in touch with all of the wonderful people in my life who I love while still giving me the ability to pause before responding or scoot out of a conversation without all eyes on me.

So, my have-to-do list:

  • Post full blog posts weekly on here.
  • Post once or twice more per month small updates with pictures.
  • Get something figured out for my blog birthday.
  • Check your blog posts regularly.
  • Finish coffee cup sweaters.

Your if-you-want-to-do list:

  • Tell me what you want for my blog birthday.
  • If you have a blog, tell me if you have a Facebook page for it.
8 responses »

  1. Girl, I can totally relate to all of this. I will see some DIY home decor thing on PInterest and head directly to Michael’s, whip it out, and have it on display in record time. But I can’t get my damn children’s book finished. It’s ridiculous. I fall behind on blog reading as well. It’s so hard…we are all busy with so many things. Don’t feel bad about that. I certainly am not keeping score.

    As far as a birthday giveaway goes, those coffee mug sweaters are pretty kickin’!!!! Either that, or you could make my kids’ Halloween costumes next year 🙂 Somehow I think you’ll go with the sweater.

    Here’s my blog Facebook page: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Are-You-Finished-Yet/336877862991109

    Looking forward for some more Doodle updates! And don’t beat yourself up if you fall short of those goals…because you’re obviously kicking ass at the most important thing: being a mom.

    • 🙂 I was thinking about the sweater things, but that would just mean I’d have to make 21! I guess if I’ve got to make SOMETHING, I might as well just keep on with my coffee cup sweater assembly line. Maybe I’ll just make another owl pillow… Definitely not, however, making any more Halloween costumes than necessary! 😉

      And it’s not *necessarily* about keeping score or beating myself up if I don’t get in at least a weekly post or get around to other blogs or anything, it’s just – I LOVED doing this, and it was a good way for me to keep some degree of socializing. Anymore, my biggest social outlet is sending homemade cookies with the hubby to work, and asking him who all received one and what each person said. :/

      And, thank you, I do kick ass at the whole mom bit, I know. I just, without a car while the hubby is working, and with my level of social anxiety anyway, and then to add a little Doodle who I’m completely obsessed with, I tend to lose myself. I need to figure out how I can kick ass at the whole me bit, too. 🙂

      • That makes complete sense. For me, and it sounds like for you as well, the blogging family has been a wonderful source of enjoyment and support. And everyone likes to feel good, so the more you can involve yourself in things that do that for you, the better. Hoping to “see” you around more often.

  2. I would totally get fired up over the chance to get one of your cute coffee cup sweaters in a give away. 🙂

    Oh and that Halloween costume is amazing!

    • Thanks! I loved making his costume! Most people thought he was Peter Pan or “a hobbit from that movie!” – but it was awesome and a lot of our dorky friends were totally ecstatic that we had done such a great job transforming Doodle to Link. 🙂

      As for the giveaway, I’m willing to bet most of y’all who respond are going to request the coffee cup guys. They’re such a fun novelty that people wouldn’t normally go out of their way to purchase. I guess that’s kind of my fault for sharing them on this post – I pretty much have it coming to me, and I’m sure I’ll just have to end up making one more. 🙂 I just need to make sure that I make it before I promise it to anyone specific, that was it’s for sure done when the time comes.

    • 🙂 I’m excited. I missed being a part of this community. And Doodle’s making me pull out my hair, so I really just need to be able to talk to grown ups so I can keep at least most of my hair.

What do you think?

